Skip to main content


Enter one or more keywords in the form below to search the Town of Kentville’s website, news releases, calendar, dining and shopping directories.

Town Hall

Town Hall

Kentville is proud of the transparency with which town business is conducted. Any resident who wants to be up-to-date on town business can easily stay in touch. Whether you need by-law information, council meeting minutes, or want to chat with your councillor, you’ll find all Kentville business information right here.

Town hall building with cornwallis inn in background

Over a century of Kentville Town Hall history

1887:The offices for the Town Hall were leased for the rental of seventy-five dollars per year.

1896:The town conducted its business in the Chipman Building on Main Street, near the present Town Hall.

1946:The town purchased property from the Salvation Army for the purpose of constructing a new Town Hall and Fire Station.

1953:The town office took up quarters in the new Town Hall, moving from temporary offices at the Cornwallis Inn.

1989: The new Town Hall was joined to the old Maritime Tel & Tel building in a ten-month renovation project.

1990: The grand opening of the Town Hall was held, on September 28.


List of Kentville Mayors:

John King  1887-1888

J.P. Chipman  1889-1890

Dr. H.B. Webster  1891-1892

B.H. Dodge  1893

J.W. Ryan  1894-1895

R.S. Masters  1896-1897

G.F. Rockwell  1898-1899

WM. Yould  1900-1902

W.F. Roscoe  1904-1907

Dr. H.B. Webster 1908-1909

H.H. Wickwire  1910-1911

Wm. Yould  1912

J.W. Ryan  1913-1914

F.A. Masters  1915

A.L. Pelton  1916-1917

J.H. Yould  1918-1919

W. Saxby Blair  1920

A.L. Pelton  1921

A.E.H. Chelsey  1922-1924

A.L. Pelton  1925-1927

Raymond Crosby  1928-1931

G.W. Lyons  1932-1935

B.W. Roscoe  1936-1945

Gladys M. Porter  1946-1949

R.W. Rottler  1950-1953

Gladys M. Porter  1954-1960

G.L. Calkin  1961-1963

H.C. Lindsay  1964-1966

C.R.G. Lowe  1967

F.H Ripley  1968-1973

R. Wendell Phinney  1974-1988

Dorine P. Taylor  1988-1994

R. Art Pope  1994-1997

Gary P. Pearl  1997-2005

David Corkum  2006-2016

Sandra Snow  2016-